MOEBIUS (as the name suggests) embodies work that explores how theory and practice are increasingly becoming one another in a wide variety of media, texts, and contexts. The journal’s editors are strongly committed to publishing theoretical work of the highest quality; we invite writing that draws upon social, political, economic, and cultural theory; we invite writing in the Marxist and post-Marxist traditions; we invite writing in the psychoanalytic traditions of Freud, Lacan, and Post-Lacanian theory; we invite writing in philosophy, particularly phenomenology; we invite writing as well from the sciences, particularly engineering, computer science; and finally we invite writing in the fine arts as they develop new modes of theorizing and (re)defining the boundaries of early twenty-first century art. While one side of our imaginary MOEBIUS strip draws upon the discourses above, the other side embodies the practical dimensions of intermedia works and performances in social spaces. Accordingly MOEBIUS cannot be print only; the journal will have a powerful and state-of-the-art on-line component and will bring media to its consumers (a term that contains but is not limited to readerlisteneruserparticipantvieweraudience) in the form of CDs and DVDs.

The editorial board consist of David Bard-Schwarz as editor-in-chief and advisory editors Douglas Kahn (Chair, Technocultural Studies at the University of California, Davis), John Mowitt (Professor of Cultural Studies, the University of Minnesota), Paul de Marinis (Stanford University), Miaden Dolar (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia), Kevin Korsyn (University of Michgan), Jeff Huang (National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan), Kevin Korsyn (from the University of Michigan), Paula Sibilla (from the Federal University of Brazil), Jon Cates (From the School of the Art Institute of Chicago), Nathaniel Stern (from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee), Neil Tenhaaf (from York University, Canada), Dick Rijken (from STEIM, the Netherlands), David Stout (University of North Texas), Jennifer Way (University of North Texas), Shane Mecklenberger (Ohio State University), and Jenny Vogel (University of North Texas).